Coding

CodeBookClub: Details, Dates And How To Join A Meeting

💡Request for feedback

If you're taking the time to read this and have feedback, criticism, or corrections, please leave comment below, email me ([email protected]), or leave anonymous feedback here.

Here you’ll find details about the CodeBookClub. Who are we?

We are hundreds of developers of all experience levels learning together. We hold live online meetups on Zoom, a video conference software. We pair program, hold group coding sessions, and read/discuss tutorials, courses and technical books together. Take a look at this quick video I made about the club.

If you’d like to join for the first time or find details on a particular meeting:

  1. Join our email list to get your invitation to the club by email, and to get updates on future books or community events.
  2. Read the #welcome channel before posting, and make sure you post in the relevant channel. If the link is not working for whatever reason, email me and let me know or follow me on Twitter where I’ll be posting new links.
  3. Introduce yourself in the discord.
  4. Remember that you don’t need to attend every meeting or event in the club! Just make it when you can.

Group Coding Sessions.

Every Sunday, we host a group programming session. Anyone is free to join, participate or just listen.

What: For 1 hour, we tackle a problem from the freeCodeCamp interview prep curriculum together. Our focus currently is data structures and algorithms.

When: Every Sunday, starting at either 2:00PM PST/5:30PM PST or 2:30PM PST/5:30PM EST.

(Every other Sunday, our 2PM meeting begins with a 30 minute discsion of a chapter from the current book we’re reading (see ‘YDKJS’ schedule below for more details).

Where: A link to the video call will be given to you when you join the club.

We have a public calender for the club here so you can get the exact Zoom link you’ll need to join and a notification on your calender before the event starts.

*Current Schedule (Updated Sunday, April 11th):

April 11th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Implement Selection Sort.

April 18th, 2:00pm - 3:00pm PST: Implement Insertion Sort.

April 25th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Implement Quick Sort.

May 2nd, 2:00pm - 3:00pm PST: Implement Merge Sort.

May 9th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Typed Arrays.

May 16th, 2:00pm - 3:00pm PST:* Learn how a stack works.

May 23rd, 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Create a Stack Class.

May 30th, 2:00pm - 3:00pm PST: Create a Queue class.

June 6th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Create a Priority Queue class.

June 13th, 2:00pm - 3:00pm PST: Create a Circular Queue.

June 20th, 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Create a Set Class.

June 27th, 2:00pm - 3:00pm PST: Perform a Union on Two Sets.

July 4th: HOLIDAY. Club pauses.

July 11th: 2:30pm - 3:30pm PST: Perform an Intersection on Two Sets of Data.

Schedule continues and will be added as July gets closer.

You Don’t Know JS Discussion Group.

What: You Don’t Know JS book club.

When: There are 2 YDKJS book clubs going on currently.

The first club happens at 2pm PST/5pm EST to 2:30PST/5:30PST every other Sundays.

The second club happens at 8:00 PM IST (9:30 AM EST / 6:30 AM PST ).

You can learn more about the You Don’t Know JS series here.

In our discord, join the #you-don’t-know-js channel for more details.

Feel free to join the weekly reading at any time. You don’t have to come to every meeting, and we’ll go over discussion questions to cement what we learned, and help each other get clarity on whatever concepts or ideas we are still confused on or struggling with. Kyle Simpson himself recently joined our live call for a Q&A session!

Where: Video call. Link to the call will be given to you when you join the club.

Fullstack open meetings.

A club going through https://fullstackopen.com/en/.

When: Every Sunday at 1pm PST / 4pm EST.

More details and specifics in the #fullstack-open channel.

Intro To Computing reading.

We are currently reading Intro To Computing, an introduction to computer science textbook.

You can learn more about our reading here.

Again, we have a public calender for the club here so you can get the exact Zoom link you’ll need to join the live meeting, and a notification on your calender about the event before every single event starts. If you don’t want to join or discord or are currently unable to, add yourself to the calender above to get notified when every event happens.

Join my coding club.

The CodeBookClub is a club for new and intermediate developers. We host live events such as a bi-monthly book club meeting and group programming. Sign up to become a member of the club and learn with us.